Inspiration: La Ferme de Sourrou

This post was triggered by seeing this photo posted over at Powerswitch on avoiding the need for refrigeration. I think it is just such an uplifting picture – amongst discussions of doom, gloom, and rampaging hordes seeing it just makes my heart ache. The sheer organic nature of the construction, the multiple levels of greenery, the life just bursting out of the page . . . just . . . breathtaking.

The photo was from HardWorkingHippy from La Ferme de Sourrou, I’m not sure where to start on describing what I found most inspirational: they are living off-grid, have built their own gorgeous house and are now building an impressive extension. They have an Angora goat and sheep farm, and also keep pigs and chickens, and are making great strides towards self sufficiency. Plus, they take really great photos!  

Here are some of the most beautiful ones I’ve found so far – their woodburning stove and this beautiful garden layout. Maybe I’ll skip work today, just curl up with the laptop and read their site from start to finish!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Wow. Beautiful and inspiring pictures indeed!

    If you’re interested in alternative refrigerator check this out: http://www.goselfsufficient.co.uk/potinpot-refrigerator-zeer.html

    Cheers!

    Reply

  2. Goodness !

    I was wondering where all my recent “hits” were coming from and found my way back here. What a nice site! 🙂

    I’m very honoured you’ve chosen to feature our site and really chuffed you like the photos too.

    I’ll be back for a longer look….

    Irene

    Reply

  3. Posted by lepotager on September 19, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Hi there Irene,

    The honour was all mine – looking at your photos really does lift my mood! Particularly true during this week of wierd economic chaos – it’s great to see such a wonderful example of people taking charge of their lives.

    Andrew

    Reply

Leave a Reply

